Pack 88's
Home Page
About Cub Scouts
What We Do
Contact Our Pack

Cub Scout Pack 88
(Oreland, Pennsylvania)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

Since 1930, the Boy Scouts of America has helped children of cub scout age. Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the 10 purposes of Cub Scouting:
  1. Character Development
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship & Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun & Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

The Cub Scouts of America colors are blue and gold. They have special meaning, which will help scouts see beyond the fun of Cub Scouting to its ultimate goals. The blue stands for truth and spirituality, steadfast loyalty, and the sky above. The gold stands for warm sunlight, good cheer and happiness.
As a scout begins the Boy Scout Trail, they join other scouts their own age. They can start the scouting program from age 5 (starting Kindergarten) to 17 years old.
The Cub Scout age program is for Kindergarteners through 3rd graders - Lions cubs, Tiger cubs, Wolf scouts, and Bear scouts. After completing Bear scout requirements, scouts begin their Webelos program.

The Cub Scout program has an Organizational Structure that puts boys and girls into gender specific groups called dens with recommended size from 6 to 8 scouts. These dens in a community form a pack which is part of a district. Districts combine to make a council - see this page for organization details.

The Bobcat rank is the first rank earned by Cub Scouts, no matter which grade they begin scouting.   After earning the Bobcat rank, they then begin earning the rank of their grade.

Cub Scouts have 12 Core Values:

  1. Citizenship: Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
  2. Compassion: Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
  3. Cooperation: Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal.
  4. Courage: Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, the difficulties, or the consequences.
  5. Faith: Having inner strength and confidence based on our trust in God.
  6. Health and Fitness: Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
  7. Honesty: Telling the truth and being worthy of trust.
  8. Perseverance: Sticking with something and not giving up, even if it is difficult.
  9. Positive Attitude: Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
  10. Resourcefulness: Using human and other resources to their fullest.
  11. Respect: Showing regard for the worth of something or someone.
  12. Responsibility: Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves.